allegretto | day eighteen pt. two

So I got the package and waited a little while before giving in to temptation and opened it up.

It was broken.

The blade was complete snapped in two and there’s a crack on the pommel. I knew that when I got it might have to paint some of the colors correctly, but this, I was not expecting.

It’s nothing that wood glue can’t fix but at the same time, I don’t want to spend time fixing something else. I’m only halfway done with my costume after all and there’s only a week and a half left. I haven’t even touched the hardest part–the belts and the boots.

It’s a beautiful sword. It’s lightweight, which is nice but the wood grain is a little too spaced out for me to be comfortable with it. I guess that what I really paid for was the time spent making it. Oh well, you live and learn.

My dad wants me to return it and have them send me a new one. I did take pictures of it and I probably will say something to them because it got damaged but right now, I need this.

After I repaint it, I think I’m going to coat it in resin to harden it up. I don’t know if I’ll add the wires or not [the wood is a little questionable as to whether or not it can handle a drill] but meh.

At least I have a prop?

Leave a comment

Filed under Allegretto, Cosplay, Eternal Sonata, Portal Productions

Leave a Reply

